Marilyn Monroe – The Vintage Wardrobe Test

I absolutely adore these vintage wardrobe test images of Marilyn Monroe! From head to toe it appears these movie studios went all out, when testing each look before she began filming. I especially love all of her high heels. 

I learned awhile back to always test wardrobe before the day of my photo shoots. So many reasons why it’s essential as well as very common. Similar to brides. Lots of them test out their wedding dress with everything, under garments, heels and hair and makeup styles. 

I’ve waited to try on things I assumed would fit. I’ve tried on things that technically fit but not the way I pictured it or the way I’d like for it to fit. I’ve waited until the last minute to try in things and ended up not receiving something I needed to go with an outfit, like heels, wig, belt etc., and then had to come with new accessories or a entirely different dress. 

The thing I don’t care for is taking selfies to see if I like an outfit. Holding a camera or anything up will obviously alter an outfit and the way it lays on you. I decided to start using my desktop tri pod and a camera timer. 

That way I get the full effect and can visual see if I like, love or hate an outfit on me. I realize my awesome fans love my wardrobe test pics, even the selfies and I’m grateful it’s entertaining to them, as much as me seeing these images of Marilyn Monroe. 

I’ve offered complimentary styling consultations rarely has any model or client of mine utilized the free option. Slightly disappointing because wardrobe is extremely important and testing is essential. 

Plus it cuts down on styling for and during the actual photo shoot or movie production etc. You will always be taking a major chance something may fit wrong, way too big, way too small. 

It always amazes how much time gals are willing to shop for clothes, style themselves or get styling and clear half their day to shoot, yet won’t wardrobe test before hand.

Even if wardrobe is provided, what happens if you don’t fancy a certain outfit?What happens if something used to fit, now won’t. What happens when a model tells me she’s a size 6 but shows up a size 9? And I promoted needing a size 6 doll to fit s specific out needed for that particular shoot.

The possibilities of wardrobe failure are endless. Having the right under garments and heels are key too. So putting it all together before a shoot is important. Not just soley for stars.

I personally don’t exactly have the time nor the funds to test wardrobe plus my hair and makeup. But I do testall my outfits with accessories and heels.
Vintage Stylist 


Leave a comment